President names best traditional costume winners at Independence Day ceremony

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) announced the names of five best traditional costume winners during the 72nd Independence Day ceremony held at the Merdeka Palace here on Thursday.

The president announced that of the five, Justice and Human Rights Minister Yasonna Laoly who came dressed in the traditional attire of Nias was adjudged the winner for wearing the best traditional costume, followed by Oesman Sapta Odang who wore traditional Malay clothing, presidential assistant aide Syarif Muhamad in a Dayak traditional costume from West Kalimantan, wife of the national police chief Tri Karnavian in a Papuan traditional costume and fringe on her shirt, and the fifth was Agati Sulie who also wore a Dayak traditional costume.

"The president has decided to meet all the invited guests, and on this good occasion, the jury has decided on the five who wore the best traditional costumes," President Jokowi noted after the ceremony.

"I have prepared five bikes for the winners, thank you. I think that is what I can say on this auspicious occasion," Jokowi revealed.

Laoly and Muhamad then expressed their excitement by riding the bikes in front of the guests and the court of honor of the Merdeka Palace.

Source: Antara News

Related posts