Indonesias soccer team crushes Philippines 3-0

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - The under-22 Indonesian soccer team (Timnas U-22) crushed the Philippines squad 3-0 in the group B of the South East Asian Games (SEA Games) in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on Thursday evening.

The victory coincided with the 72nd anniversary of the Republic of Indonesias Independence Day, which was commemorated across the country on Thursday.

The first goal was scored by Septian David Maulana in 6th minute, the second by Muhammad Hargianto in 45th+1 minute, and the third one was scored by Saddil Ramdani in 58th minute, as quoted by the website of the All Indonesian Football Association (PSSI) on Thursday.

It was the second goal netted by David, after he scored a goal in Thailands goalpost through penalty kick during the inaugural match of the national team on Tuesday (Aug 15), which ended 1-1 score.

During the match, which was held in the Shah Alam Stadium in Slangor, Malaysia, Indonesias team fielded in a slightly different form compared to the game against Thailand on Tuesday.

The players who were earlier placed at the reserve point, such as Putu Gede Juni Antara, Saddil Ramdani, Jabez Roni, and Ezra Walian, were then fielded by coach Luis Milla in the first minute.

With the changing strategy, Indonesia could immediately score a quick goal in the 6th minute.

The Timnas U-22s pressures on the Philippines defense made the squad of Marlon Maro (Filipinos soccer coach) difficult to progress with the game. In the 13th minute, David also had a chance (to score goal), but his shot was wide of the goal.

During the second half, Indonesia was depressed in the early minutes. However, Indonesian players Evan Dimas and his friends managed to get out of the pressure.

Earlier on Tuesday (Aug 15), the Timnas U-22 and Thailands squad shared 1-1 score.

Thailand's player Chaiyawat Buran scored the goal in the 14th minute, while David netted the retaliation goal through penalty kick in the 61st minute.

The penalty was obtained after Indonesian player Osvaldo Haay was violated by the Thai defender in the opponent's penalty box.

The Timnas U-22 is placed in group B along with Thailand, the champions of SEA Games 2013 and 2015, and Vietnam, the 2015 SEA Games bronze medalist, as well as Cambodia, the Philippines, and Timor Leste.

The draw result placed the squads' position of Indonesia and Thailand in the provisional standings under Vietnam, which crushed the team of Timor Leste 4-0.

The country's squad will face the teams of Vietnam and Cambodia on Tuesday (Aug 22) and Thursday (Aug 24), respectively.

Indonesian players who participated in the SEA Games include Kurniawan Kartika Aji (Persiba Balikpapan), Satria Tama (Persegres Gresik United), and Mochammad Diky Indriyana (Bali United) as goal keepers; Andy Setyo (PS TNI), Hansamu Yama (Barito Putera), Ryuji Utomo (Persija), Putu Gede (Bhayangkara FC), Gavin Kwan (Barito Putera), Ricky Fajrin (Bali United), and Rezaldi Hehanusa (Persija) for the back positions; Hargianto (Persija), Asnawi Mangkualam Bahar (PSM), Hanif Abdurrauf Sjahbandi (Arema FC), Evan Dimas (Bhayangkara FC), Septian David Maulana (Mitra Kukar), Febri Hariyadi (Persib), Osvaldo Hay (Persipura), and Saddil Ramdani (Persela) for the midfield positions; and Ezra Walian, Marinus Mariyanto (Persipura), and Yabes Roni (Bali United) as attackers.

Source: Antara News

Related posts