President distributes Smart Indonesia Cards in East Nusa Tenggara

Jakarta (ANTARA News) - President Joko Widodo distributed 1,015 Smart Indonesia Cards (KIP) and 500 cards under the Hope Family Program (PKH) to the community in Rote Ndao District in East Nusa Tenggara Province.

The assistance was delivered at the State Junior High School 4 Rote Barat Daya, Lantera Village, Meoain Sub-district, Rote Ndao District.

A total of 1,015 KIPs were distributed to students from elementary to senior high schools as well as vocational schools.

Through the KIP policy, the government is optimistic of providing education to all Indonesian children.

Three financing schemes have been outlined for students under the KIP policy. Students from elementary school will receive a grant of Rp450 thousand per year, junior high school students will get Rp750 thousand, while students from senior high and vocational schools will receive a grant of Rp1 million.

"I need to remind all students that the assistance should be used for educational purposes, including for buying school uniforms, shoes, and hats as well as for paying the school fees," he stated.

The PKH cards were distributed to 500 disadvantaged families.

The PKH card serves as a social protection program to offer non-cash assistance in accordance with the applicable regulations.

"I hope that the assistance of Rp1,890 million offered through the card would be used for meeting the educational and nutritional needs of the children," he noted.

The total funds available in the PKH card can be withdrawn four times through a government-appointed bank.

The administration of President Joko Widodo and Vice President Jusuf Kalla has made the banking system a medium for distributing assistance to the community.

With the implementation of the system, the misuse of funds by irresponsible parties can be further minimized.

In addition to distributing the KIP and PKH cards, Widodo inaugurated a new branch of the State Junior High School 4 of Rote Barat Daya.

Widodo was accompanied by First Lady Iriana, Minister of Public Works and Peoples Housing Basuki Hadimuljono, Minister of Education and Culture Muhadjir Effendy, Chief of the Presidential Staff Teten Masduki, and East Nusa Tenggara Governor Frans Lebu Raya.

Source: ANTARA News

Related posts