COVID-19: Indonesia adds 7,068 recoveries, 10,047 cases in single day

Jakarta Indonesia has added 7,068 recoveries and 10,047 fresh COVID-19 infections in a single day, according to data from the Task Force for COVID-19 Handling, released on Tuesday.

With this, the total tally of COVID-19 cases in the country has reached 846,765, while the number of recoveries has touched 695,807. Meanwhile, with 302 people succumbing to the infection in a single day, the death toll has climbed to 24,645, data from the task force shows.

At present, 54,827 people in 510 districts and cities in 34 provinces have been categorized as suspected coronavirus patients.

With 70,309 specimens examined as of Tuesday, the total number of specimens examined in laboratories for the presence of coronavirus has reached 7,991,379. The first two cases of COVID-19 surfaced in the country on March 2, 2020. Data collected at the provincial level shows Jakarta has recorded 1,657 new recoveries, 2,669 confirmed COVID-19 cases, and 34 deaths; Central Java has reported 1,305 new recoveries, 1,323 fresh cases, and 99 deaths; West Java 970 new recoveries, 1,540 fresh cases, and 15 deaths; East Java 715 new recoveries, 844 fresh cases, and 65 deaths; South Sulawesi 594 new recoveries, 637 fresh cases, and two deaths; East Kalimantan 337 new recoveries, 338 fresh cases, and eight deaths; and, Yogyakarta 150 new recoveries, 268 new cases, and three deaths.

Maluku is the only province to report no new cases on Tuesday.

In the meantime, Coordinating Economic Affairs Minister Airlangga Hartarto has announced a tightening of restrictions in specific areas in all six provinces on Java Island and Bali province from January 11-25, 2021, in a bid to counter a spike in COVID-19 infections.

"Limited restrictions are being applied in the Java-Bali provinces, as the provinces meet one of the four set parameters," Hartarto said during an online press conference here on Wednesday.

Restrictions are being tightened in Jakarta and adjoining areas, including Bogor City, Bogor district, Depok, Bekasi City, and Bekasi’s districts, the minister noted, as well as partially in Banten, West Java, Central Java, East Java, Yogyakarta, and Bali provinces.

Source: Antara News

Related posts