Indonesia sends off seven chess athletes for 2022 Asian Games

Jakarta (ANTARA) – The Indonesian Chess Association (Percasi) sent off seven athletes to compete at the 2022 Asian Games in Hangzhou, China.”Devote your body and soul to represent this republic. Prove that Indonesia is even stronger than strong competitors, such as China, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, and Uzbekistan,” Percasi Chairman Utut Adianto told the athletes in Jakarta on Sunday. The seven athletes will compete in the categories of men’s single fast chess (two delegates), women’s single fast chess (two delegates), and women’s group standard chess (five delegates). “(I believe that) all athletes will give their best,” Adianto remarked. The Indonesian chess delegation had undergone a centered training program in Budapest, Hungary, from August 3 to September 13 to make the finest preparations for facing the upcoming 19th Asian Games, which will be the third Asian Games for Percasi to send its athletes. Previously, the association had sent athletes to Asian Games Doha, Qatar, in 2006 and Asian Games Guangzhou, China, in 2010. “We will give our best for Indonesia at the Asian Games. We are optimistic about bagging medals,” Chess player Medina Warda Aulia said. The Ministry of Youth and Sports has set a target for the Indonesian chess contingent to clinch at least two silver medals and one bronze medal. t the 2022 Asian Games, multinational chess players will start competing from September 24 until October 7, with the September 24-27 period for men’s and women’s single fast chess games, while men’s and women’s group standard chess games will be played from September 29 to October 7. s cited from Percasi’s website on Sunday, Indonesia will be represented by seven athletes in three chess categories: Men’s single fast chess:1. Novendra Priasmoro (Grand Master)2. Azarya Jodi Setyaki (International Master) Women’s single fast chess:1. Irene Kharisma Sukandar (International Master)2. Medina Warda Aulia (International Master) Women’s group standard chess:1. Irene Kharisma Sukandar2. Medina Warda Aulia3. Dewi Ardhiani Anastasia Citra (Woman Grand Master)4. Chelsie Monica Ignesias Sihite (Woman International Master)5. Ummi Fisabilillah (Woman International Master).

Source: Antara News Agency