Law Minister discusses Schengen visa issue for Indonesians

Jakarta (ANTARA) - Indonesia's Minister of Law and Human Rights Yasonna Laoly has discussed the progress on the Schengen visa-free scheme for Indonesians, in the meeting with 20 ambassadors from the European Union member countries. "In the meeting I have conveyed cooperation in immigration, to consider the implementation of the Schengen visa-free scheme for us," Laoly said after the meeting here Tuesday.

A Schengen visa is a short stay visa allowing its holder to circulate in the Schengen area that covers 26 countries without border controls between them.

These countries are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Indonesia has yet to be included on the list of countries that can enjoy the benefits of a Schengen visa.

Indonesia is examining visa-free entry for citizens of the European Union member countries visiting the country, Laoly said.

In return, he has asked the EU to impose a similar scheme for Indonesians visiting the region.

"We have applied visa-free scheme for tourism and business, and in return, we asked them to consider Schengen visa-free scheme for us," he noted.

The meeting has also discussed several other issues related to the enhancement of Indonesia and EU relations, including legislation priorities for 2020 and the completion of Indonesia's omnibus law aimed at improving investment climate and ease of doing business.

It also discussed the Law on the Anti-Graft Body (KPK), development of human rights issues, intellectual properties, mutual legal assistance and extradition.

Source: Antara News

Related posts